t: +44 (0)20 7486 3103
f: +44 (0)20 7487 2786
e: blandford@capricornhotels.co.uk

Hotel Reviews

A sample of comments from our guests:

Great location, friendly staff and nice rooms

Stayed for three nights with my boyfriend, a 12 min walk to Oxford street as well as 2 mins to the tube and a lot of busses passing by (most of them going at least to Oxford street, also took one to Kensington and another couple to Picadilly circus. Friendly, helpful staff, got to check in and leave our luggage 4 hours prior to the check-in time (when our room was clean and ready). There was no fridge/minibar in our room, so they kept a cheescake for us in the kitchen. Clean and fresh, we had a streetside room on the first floor, but slept very well, calm street. Nice breakfast and a lovely stay :)
23rd of January 2014

....................

Great Boutique Hotel - good location

My Husband and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights on our winter vacation. If you are looking for a small clean hotel close to the center, this hotel is a great choice! The location is good, it is located 3 min walk from the Baker Tube station. The staff was very friendly and helpful to all our needs. The room contains all you need, a queen size bed, an LCD TV, a small desk and chair (with Tea and Coffee set), an iron and ironing board, hair drier, free WIFI, a clean bathroom(with a bath), and it faces a very quiet street which lets you have a great night sleep. The hotel is very clean! which to me is very important in small city hotels. Overall great value for your money!
23rd of December 2013

....................

Excellent hotel in every respect

I have been staying at the Blandford , on and off, over the past fifteen years, and i always find a warm welcome and a very comfortable experience! Rooms are well equipped and cosy , the breakfast is copious (buffet); and above all , the staff are always incredibly helpful, flexible, knowledgeable and patient! As a bonus , the hotel is very well situated for bus/tube travel, and is in a rather safe-feeling upmarket area of London; Recommended without hesitation !!!
23rd of December 2013

....................

Yes, you can have it all!

Often in a big city it's a compromise between location and hotel quality. No trade-off is necessary at the Blandford. The hotel is about 200 metres from Baker Street Station and you don't even have to cross the road to get there owing to the Chiltern Street pedestrian underpass. The surrounding area is classy, viby, and trendy, with many restaurants and interesting shops, and is walking distance to several attractions. The hotel itself is a gem. The outside and much of the street looks exactly like its pretty pictures, resplendent with colourful hanging flowers. The rooms are very good - comfortable beds, modern bathroom and spotlessly clean. The inclusive breakfast was satisfactory and the staff attentive. A big plus is that the free Internet actually works! The hotel is exceptionally well run with the tone set by the manager Sam Yousf who is an absolute gentleman. He is soft spoken, helpful and friendly. All staff - reception, cleaning staff, waitstaff, were likewise calm, efficient, accommodating and friendly. We unfortunately had a medical issue with which to deal, and again the staff excelled in assisting us. We spent 12 nights at this wonderful hotel and were sad to leave. This is definitely a quality boutique hotel and highly recommended!
23rd of September 2013

....................

Definite recommendation

The Blandford Hotel is located just 2 minutes to walk from Baker Street Underground Station, from where you can reach every destination in central London in no time, and with several restaurants and a few attractions within walking distance. The hotel is located in an old building but has been renovated in recent years. Everything else is truly excellent. The staff was very friendly and very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was really good. Any time again!
11th of July 2013

....................

Good value, clean and good breakfast

Only a single night stay due to a meeting close by. Check in was fine, no problems. Breakfast was great. I would stay again, no complaints at all. The cost was not that bad. Close to the tube station and a pub close by.
Tripadvisor, 9 January 2013

....................

Good value, great service

I loved my stay at the Blandford Hotel. I arrived for a three night stay feeling a bit under the weather. The staff at the front desk took one look at me and asked if there was anything they could do.

Excellent value for the money. While the room was nicely appointed, perfectly clean, and blissfully quiet with a lovely bathroom. Perfect for collasping after a busy day shopping or sightseeing, or after a night at the theatre.

I've since recommended the hotel to friends who also enjoyed their stay and will certainly use the Blandford again on my next trip to London.
Tripadvisor, 4 January 2013

....................

Great little hotel in a very good location

We stayed here for 1 night after a party, and it was very good. Great location, steps from Baker St tube, very clean and nicely appointed rooms. Although small, you are in a good location and not paying 5* prices, so well worth the money. Service on front desk was good, nice small lobby area with good tea/coffee machine and water available.

Beds were comfortable, all amenities required are in rooms including an iron/board, tea/coffee facilities, shower room was clean and obviously recently renovated.

We would love to stay again, perhaps for a weekend break next time. Very much recommended

Tripadvisor, 30 November 2012

....................

Lovely staff and perfect location

Stayed here for two nights this week and the hotel certainly has more plus points than negatives. When deciding whether this hotel is worth a visit for the price please take into account that it is a central London hotel two minutes away from the underground and the location dictates that you are not going to get a room the size of one out of the city centre.

On arrival I was checked in quickly and with a smile having made a reservation on line the week before. I stayed in room 41 which was small but was very clean and completely free from any traffic noise.

So overall the hotel ticks most of the boxes helped by such nice staff including the reception cleaning and kitchen employees.

A nice touch was the hot drinks facility in the small but cosy lounge at reception it adds to the feeling that the hotel cares about its customers.

Tripadvisor, 22 November 2012

....................

Excellent as always

Location, location, location. The Blandford is a lovely quiet haven just minutes from Baker Street tube. Staff are always friendly and ready to help. Yes the rooms are quite small, but then you will not be spending much time in them. The rooms are always very clean. Breakfast is a great bonus. We very much enjoyed our stay again at the Blandford and hope to be back in the future.

Tripadvisor, 12 November 2012

....................

Excellent service and good location

Totally the good experience. The room was quite small, but however price and experience were the right balance.
Tripadvisor, 24 October 2012

....................

Stay for Jubilee weekend

Myself, husband and two friends booked into the Blandford Hotel for 2 nights on the Jubilee weekend.

We found the staff friendly and helpful, the bed was very comfortable and the rooms were clean and quiet. Breakfast was hot and very enjoyable. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for location and value for money. I will certainly be staying there again, the best value for money hotel I have stayed at in London.
Northampton, United Kingdom, 4 June 2012.

....................

Great bed

Ideal for a business trip. Location super - right next to tube Baker street. Room small and shower room small but with the great bed and a good night's sleep makes up for the small room. Clean, safe, ideal for business.

Oh, the staff are lovely.
East Yorkshire, 28 May 2012.

....................

Wonderful stay

The Blandford hotel is a very nice place, comfortable and in a good position to visit London. It's few minutes walking from the tube, and it is very close to Oxford street.

The hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and the english breakfast was good.

I'll come back.:)
Bologna, Italy, 22 May 2012.

....................

Convenient yet quiet London location for a pleasant stay

Have just spent 4 pleasant nights at the Blandford and wished we had stayed here on our last visit to London.

Baker St station can be seen from the front of the hotel a block and a half away. Despite this, the street is fairly quiet. Our room was on the ground floor facing the street and we had no problem sleeping because of noise. There are lots of restaurants/cafes/pubs of varying sizes and price ranges within a few blocks in virtually every direction.

The room was a very good size for London (we had room for our 2 full size suitcases on the floor!) And was pleasantly furnished and presented. The bathroom was small but shower was a good size and all was clean and modern. We found the bed comfortable.

A winner in London.
Canberra, 21 May 2012.

....................

Pleasantly surprised

I frequently have one night stays in London and over three years I think I have stayed in a different hotel each time. My search for a regular base may have ended because the Blandford Hotel was a pleasant surprise.

The staff - were incredibly welcoming and cheery. They looked after my bags safely as I arrived very very early (as it turned out I could check in 20 minutes after my arrival anyway - still well before the advertised check in time - great service!)

The breakfast was really good, Hot stuff as well as cold buffet, which again was a pleasant surprise. The whole place was very clean.

The location can't be beaten, just south of Baker Street tube, with the whole of central London within easy walking distance.
Newbury, Berkshire, 24 May 2010.

....................

Nice hotel - would stay again

Very near to museums, concert hall etc. Most to us important sites in walking distance; also easy to find restaurants etc. around Baker St. Hotel itself has all that is needed, staff are very friendly. Rooms small, but efficient
United Kingdom, May 20, 2010.

....................

Pleasant hotel

When I arrived I was told that I was being given a free upgrade from a single room to an Executive Double. The room was a good size with a large ensuite. The room itself was quiet and I got a good sleep each night. The breakfast too was good, with plenty available and a good choice. I had a pleasant stay and would choose to stay again.

Some quibbles though: the shower didn't work properly on the first morning. I notified reception and someone came promptly and fixed it.

The TV included Sky News, Sports 1, 2 and 3 which had a good picture. I didn't use WiFi but my own mobile broadband for which I got a very good reception.
Caerdydd, Wales, May 2010.

....................

Wonderful location, pleasant hotel

We just returned from our one week stay at the Blandford. The location was unbeatable, as you could walk to so much, safely and the tube was nearby and the room did grow on us. The staff was pleasant, friendly and accommodating. Would recommend this hotel.
New York, 21 Feb 2010.

....................

Terrific neighborhood, excellent connections to city and Wembley Stadium

We stayed here based on a recommendation in the forum. The setup: one adult, one seven year old, good connections to Wembley Stadium and to inner city required. The hotel met all those expectations. It is in a lovely street in the immediate vicinity of Baker Street, although far enough down so as not to be noisy. The hotel itself is pleasant looking and had free coffee and tea available all day as one of those capsule-style coffee makers (a big money saver for me, since it helped me avoid going to the seemingly omnipresent Starbucks in the area!). The breakfast was also decent-- eggs, sausage, mushrooms, musli, yogurt, orange juice, fruit salad, baked beans, bread - and plentiful.

All in all a good experience, and certainly recommended for visitors to Wembley.
Berlin, Germany, 27 Oct 2009.

....................

Great place - great location

The Blandford Hotel was a perfect place to stay during our family trip to London. 4 people in one room that had 2 twin beds and one double bed was just right for us. The room was clean and bright - the bathroom was unexpectedly large. Included in the price of the room is breakfast which was perfect for starting off the day. The staff was friendly and helpful. We came very early the first day and though our room wasn't ready yet, they let us have free breakfast before we started our first day of sight-seeing. Great location, very close to buses, trains and major dining street. Would stay there again.
San Fancisco area, 25 Oct 2009.

....................

Great little hotel in an excellent location

This is a great little hotel. It is really well located, just 2 minutes' walk from Baker Street tube station but far enough down a quiet residential street that it is a peaceful place to stay. I couldn't hear the traffic on the Road even when I tried! The rooms are pretty small, but nicely finished, with modern bathrooms and temperature control (which is good as my room was on the cold side when I arrived). The TVs in the rooms also have Sky Sports which is a plus in my opinion! Everywhere is extremely clean and the staffs are pleasant - I would definitely stay here again.

dragon_rose, Cardiff, Nov 5, 2008

....................

Warm and friendly

I took my girlfriend here for her 21st birthday. The team at The Blandford treated us very well. Delivered breakfast in bed as a special treat and flowers and presents I had bought earlier. They made the stay very special for us both. If you like a quiet room and sincere customer service you will like it here. The Blandford Hotel in Marylebone is a special little hamlet in a hectic city. Enjoy.

Sdarrenkr, wigan, Oct 14, 2008

....................

Loved the Blandford

Do expect a clean, small room with new bathroom. Ask for a room on the street side as it is quiet and the windows open widely. Also, the entire staff is friendly and very helpful. The English Breakfast was wonderful with great selections and a comfortable dining room. The location is tops! Easy access to Baker Street Tube and all connections. We will definitely recommend this cozy hotel to friends.

rbyslpprs, Bremerton, WA, Oct 4, 2008

....................

Excellent!!!

Excellent hotel... perfect location... only 2 min walk from Baker Street tube station and Madame Tussaud's. The hotel was very clean, decent breakfast, very helpful staff and to top it all the location. I will definitely recommend this to everyone.

Ravs05, Stockton-on-Tees, Jun 11, 2008

Long Weekend 50 % OFF Your Sunday Stay

Treat yourself to a Long Weekend Stay in the City. Enjoy a 3 night stay, including a Sunday, and get 50% OFF the Sunday rate....

Book Now

The Byron

36-38 Queensborough
Terrace, Bayswater,
London, W2 3SH.

t: +44 (0)20 7243 0987
f: +44 (0)20 7792 1957
e: email

The Blandford

80 Chiltern Street
London,
W1U 5AF.

t: +44 (0)20 7486 3103
f: +44 (0)20 7487 2786
e: email

Oliver Plaza

33 Trebovir Road
Earls Court,
London, SW5 9NF.

t: +44 (0)20 7373 7183
f: +44 (0)20 7244 6021
e: email

Ongoing

The View from The Shard - London's highest viewing platform

See London like never before from the top of Western Europe's tallest building.

Ongoing

Changing the Guard at Buckingham Palace

For a free display of British pomp and ceremony, watch Changing the Guard outside Buckingham Palace.

Ongoing

Guided Tours of the Houses of Parliament

Parliament is open to all members of the UK public and overseas visitors.

The Byron

Hyde Park and Bayswater

36-38 Queensborough Terrace, Bayswater
London, W2 3SH.

The Blandford

Oxford St., Regent's Park

80 Chiltern Street
London, W1U 5AF.

Oliver Plaza

Earl's Court

33 Trebovir Road, Earls Court,
London, SW5 9NF.

Need help with your booking? Have any questions regarding your stay at Capricorn Hotels?

Please fill in the form and our friendly staff will contact you to answer and questions you may have.

Please note: Staff are available 9am-9pm GMT 7 days a week.

Your details:

First Name:

Last Name:

Contact Number:

Email:

Hotel:

Your Enquiry:

Book Online

For our best available rates


Free Wi-Fi

Sign up here for news & offers

Cookies on Capricorn Hotels

This site uses cookies. Some may have been set already. Read about how we use cookies. Please click the button to accept our cookies permanently. If you continue to use the site, we'll assume you're happy to accept cookies for now.

Accept ►